The Prodigal Writer

I took a bit of a break from writing, I do this from time to time so I can find new inspiration and make sure the voice I’m using when I write is my own. As soon as I decided to take this little break my whole life turned upside down. Normally I bitch and moan and complain about it but this time it’s exactly what I wanted, what I needed. Everything I thought I knew and thought I could rely on just fell apart and out of it something else was born.

One thing I love about being a writer is that my writing is constantly evolving and changing as my life evolves and changes. I can look back on my writing and know exactly what was going on in my life and I can see how my writing has grown and gotten better as I’ve bumbled along through life.

I’ve learned I like to write poems with imagery in mind, lately I’ve been playing with a more staccato rhythm, rather than the long flowing pieces I’ve done in the past. I like the idea of using fractured images to create one big image. I suppose in someways I’m creating a collage with my writing, which is really kind of funny because I used to really hate collage. Lately I’ve felt like a collage, all these little pieces I’m slowly putting back together in order to rebuild myself and make a completed image.

I didn’t realize how much my writing has been reflecting my inner feelings until I took this break and really looked at my work and myself. I’m lifting my self imposed hiatus and I’m ready to experiment with both my writing and my life.

About inkspots87

I'm a writer at heart, but so much more. I'm typical, I love music and I've got a thing for pretty things. I like things, in general. If it's a thing chances are I'll like something about it. I love to read. Words are quite possibly my favorite thing, hence why I'm here. View all posts by inkspots87

2 responses to “The Prodigal Writer

Leave a Reply

