The Name of the Wind

Well since this was supposed to be a blog pertaining to my writing lets get back to that, shall we?

I read a book a friend of mine has been bugging me to read for a few years now. It’s called The Name of the Wind and it’s by Patrick Rothfuss. I had tried to read the book a couple of years ago but just couldn’t get into it. I tried again and to my surprise, really enjoyed it.

Technically speaking, it’s not perfect. But then, very few books are. It drags in some places and seems repetitive in others, but overall it’s a very well done book in a genre in which there are very few well done books (Fantasy). It reminded me of several books all at once. I’ll explain each one in turn.

First, The Lord of the Rings. I think it’s impossible to write a fantasy novel without there being some similarities to LOTR. Unlike some books this was not an overt reminder, more of the feel of the book. The overall tone was similar, rather than it being a rip off of the story of the LOTR.

Second, The Dark Tower series, more specifically the Gunslinger himself. The adult Kvothe (main character) reminded me a lot of the Gunslinger, which is a rarity for me. Very few authors can match Stephen King’s ability to make characters really live and breathe. Kvothe lives and breathes, he’s a fully fleshed character. Complex and interesting, versus flat and somewhat boring. He is relatable even though he is very much himself.

Third, Ender’s Game. Young Kvothe reminds me of Ender, a lot. He’s got that same sort of intelligence, though Kvothe is less internal than Ender.

Despite being reminded of several different books and authors (or perhaps because of) I still find The Name of the Wind to be an exceptionally written book. Patrick Rothfuss weaves a complex story in a way that makes it seem alive. His descriptions are quite possibly my favorite part of the book. He goes into these descriptions of people and things and you can just get lost in them. I’ll definitely be rereading this book from a more technical stand point in order to see what I can take from his writing to apply to my own.

So thank you Kim. And hurry and send me the next one!!

About inkspots87

I'm a writer at heart, but so much more. I'm typical, I love music and I've got a thing for pretty things. I like things, in general. If it's a thing chances are I'll like something about it. I love to read. Words are quite possibly my favorite thing, hence why I'm here. View all posts by inkspots87

2 responses to “The Name of the Wind

  • Kim

    Told you it was awesome and wonderful. I’ll be sending it to you tonight after I get back to my desktop.

    I love the man’s writing. He engages me in a very real and deep way.

  • inkspots87

    It’s a very good book, not many writers can engage me the way Stephen King or Neil Gaiman do and this book managed too.

Leave a Reply

