Didn’t I used to hate you?

I’ve been on an editing kick lately, like for the last few months. As I’ve previously stated I tend to hate editing, however I’ve got a new perspective. So, I’ve had this piece of poetry since 07. It’s political/social in nature and I’ve gone over it a couple of times but could never really seem to fix what was bugging me about it. When I started this editing frenzy I decided I was going to do it differently, I was going to look at my work the same way I look at other people’s work, I was going to be just as critical and just as honest. I never realized it was possible to hurt your own feelings…

I realized I’d gotten lazy in my poetry, sure I had some truly standout pieces but the mass writing event I had found myself in this summer had yielded some real crap. And worst yet, I’d posted that crap in public forums. Shame ensued. Then I looked at the writing again and I began to teach myself  how to rework, how to refine and how to get out of my own head and make my writing accesible. 

I’ve always been the type of person who writes for my own personal edification. I write to express things I have no other way to express but in doing that I’ve made myself a nice little wall around my writing. I’ve made it unreachable to the audience I’m trying to build. It was one of those moments I sat down and had a serious internal discussion about my obvious idiocy.

So fastforward to now, I’ve got about 14 poems I have edited the living daylights out of, some of them I’m still not completely happy with and some of them I look and I think “wow I really actually am a writer. Go me!!”

So what is the point of this? Well in this editing phase I’ve discovered that….GASP! I really enjoy editing. I had to find a rhythm and a way of doing it. (Some words of wisdom from a fellow writer sure did help too).

It’s pretty amazing that I’m 13 days into the new year, and this is usually the point where I’ve given up and decided the world hates me, but instead (since I made an agreement with myself about that pesky pessimism) I’m doing what I said I’d do: try and be more positive. This change is one of the best things I’ve done for myself.

About inkspots87

I'm a writer at heart, but so much more. I'm typical, I love music and I've got a thing for pretty things. I like things, in general. If it's a thing chances are I'll like something about it. I love to read. Words are quite possibly my favorite thing, hence why I'm here. View all posts by inkspots87

Leave a Reply

