Yes, She CAN Write

Today concluded my creative writing class. I emailed my portfolio to my instructor, it came out to 41 pages which is pretty impressive. Three stories plus revisions for each, two essays and three short exercises. It was a lot of work, but totally worth it I learned a lot this semester both about the technical elements of writing but also about my own writing. I suppose I could say I have discovered my writing voice, which is something I’ve struggled with in the past.

Despite my indecision concerning what I want to go to school for I have never been more confident in my writing skills. During this glorious year of having everything I touched turn to crap (I wish I was kidding) I am pleasantly surprised to find one thing that has improved. I suppose there’s always a silver lining, though I am usually the last person to find it being that I can be somewhat pessimistic in nature.

I know no matter what I choose to do professionally I will always write and I will always pursue publication, which is comforting. Writing is something that has always been a constant, I have nearly every poem I ever wrote (including the downright awful ones from middle school I’d rather pretend don’t exist). I like having the full body of my work so I can look back on it and see how I’ve improved and what I can do to get better.

For me, Real Writing has never been “easy,” sure it’s come easy because I have a talent for it, but actually completing something and making it good takes a lot of hard work. No piece of literature on the market has it’s first draft published, editing is where casual writers are weeded from the serious writers. For the record, I hate editing. I’d love to hire an editor, all I’ve got is my best friend who dutifully looks over my work for grammatical errors (I appreciate it more than she knows.) Despite my love of words, I’ve got no talent for grammar. We hates it precious. I could care less about proper comma usage (yep, that’s a writer talking), I just want to get my story out and worry about the technical elements later (enter editing).

Point is, I love to write and that’s not going to change no matter what degree I decide to get. I’m leaning away from creative writing and towards a few other things, once I flesh it out a little more I’ll probably put something up here about it.

About inkspots87

I'm a writer at heart, but so much more. I'm typical, I love music and I've got a thing for pretty things. I like things, in general. If it's a thing chances are I'll like something about it. I love to read. Words are quite possibly my favorite thing, hence why I'm here. View all posts by inkspots87

2 responses to “Yes, She CAN Write

  • mechastan

    You’re like my brother, shit man are all my friends and my brother doomed to be writers? (actually I’m also friends with quite a few artists)

    I used to roll my eyes because everyone i knew WAS a writer (my mom and my brother for fucks sake) and my brother does the same thing of just putting it to paper but he expects someone to read it and not look past the grammatical errors- one day he’ll be good, his stuff is fantasy type.

    i just do fan fic but i obsessively read and read and read my own shit picking out errors and stuff. always a perfectionist i guess.

    post more prose, i dont really like poems. i always wanted to take a class on them to understand and break down the big deal of them but short stories have been where its at for me.

    you wrote poems in middle school? like when we were friends? lolz I used to write short stories in like 5th grade. 6th and 7th i put my creative energy into cheer leading (and tons of reading sweet valley high- lolz) i picked up the pen in the summer after 8th grade…to write power puff girls fan fiction, woe is me. :p

  • inkspots87

    When it comes to editing I’m more concerned with content than grammar. Kim helps me with the grammar stuff because I could just care less about it. I know it’s important when trying to get published and I do make an effort to edit my grammar, I just suck at it.

    I started writing poems in seventh grade. I got really into it in eighth grade, I had an english teacher who really encouraged me to write. I suppose I owe it to her that I write at all.

    I like writing poetry because it’s quick. I’ve been working on more prose because it’s more of a challenge.

Leave a Reply

